Columbus Ohio Animal Activists Rock the Chain Off

Tamira Thayne, Dogs Deserve Better founder and CEO, at the Ohio Statehouse in Columbus asking for better laws for chained dogs.

Tamira Thayne, Dogs Deserve Better founder and CEO, at the Ohio Statehouse in Columbus asking for better laws for chained dogs.

Day Two of the Capitol Doghouse Tour found me in Columbus, Ohio, at the Statehouse on the High Street side. I was surprised how ‘Big City’ Columbus is, and as a self-proclaimed Country Girl, it made me a little uncomfortable, out of my element. But once I faced my fears with getting there and getting set up, I have to admit being in the city makes the seven hours go faster than sitting out in the country somewhere.

There is so much to see while you’re standing there, and lots of people stop to talk and seem generally interested in the issue. I noticed that they tend to argue less about it too. They listen and ask questions and thank you for the information. Cool!

Plus, Columbus OH ROCKS it for Animal Activists! Seven people and two babies (who came with their moms…I don’t think they were ambulatory enough to get there on their own) stood for the chained dogs today.

It was a super hot day, and I was sweaty by the time we even got set up. Most of those chaining with me stayed for 2-3 hours as they had other places to be and people to see. I envied them the ability to just walk away, and I just couldn’t WAIT for the time to be over.

And that’s when it hit me RIGHT IN THE GUT. Because leaving is a luxury the dogs don’t have. When they are on a chain for life, there is no “Let me just make it through another five hours and I can leave”.

There is no leaving.

There is no going somewhere else.

There is no water if not given.

There is no food if not provided.

There is only the chain and the dirt and the time and the weather and the pain and the sadness and the loneliness.

Over and over and over and over again for 11 years or 96,000 hours.

I can’t stand it.

I can’t take it.

It makes me crazy that I can’t fix it for them.

I don’t know. Maybe that’s it for the day.

What else can one say about the cruelty America inflicts on our dogs and the cruelty America inflicts on those who advocate for the dogs and who care about their plight?

It sickens me.

Channel Six came out and did an interview today.

The rest is a day in pics. Thanks to everyone who came out to spread the word for the dogs today.

oh5

David Olk and Izzy Queja-Wells chained at the Columbus, Ohio Statehouse. David is an artist, activist, and works and lives in Columbus. Izzy is traveling with Tamira and Tamira’s daughter Brynnan, and decided she would go the activist route for today’s demonstration.

oh2

David was super excited to meet Dick Goddard, who is quite famous in Ohio as a Fox 8 retired weatherman and now a wonderful animal advocate.

oh3

This pic called out for black and white.

oh6

 

So we got Brynnan to take this pic of me, David, and Izzy on the chains. Then David said we should be less posed and more activist. So we all turned the same way and looked even more stupid.

oh7

Then Brynnan told us we looked stupid and that we all turned the same way, so I started cracking up laughing.

oh8

So then in my infinite wisdom, I turned the other direction. OK, posed unposed shots. A bit of a fail.

oh9 oh10

I got a kick out of watching people look at Izzy with a puzzled look on their faces. I tried to get pics of it, but didn’t get the best ones.

oh11

Linda Tenzos, Julie McDonough, Marlee Henley-Francis,  Tiffany Esposito-Mackey, and Tamira plus babies on board chained at the statehouse in Columbus Ohio.

oh12

Tiffany and Julie

oh13

Love Linda’s sign she had made for the event.

oh14

People got hit with multiple messages as they walked by, and hopefully they really got what we were throwing down.

It was exciting to interact with so many people, and to feel that we genuinely reached them and helped them understand the issue. For example, Peter here, from Nigeria, who took a brochure and pledged to start campaigning against chaining dogs in his country.

It was exciting to interact with so many people, and to feel that we genuinely reached them and helped them understand the issue. For example, Peter here, from Nigeria, who took a brochure and pledged to start campaigning against chaining dogs in his country.

oh15

After noon we were virtually out of shade, and had to hope for the clouds to come and block out the sun. The buildings finally blocked it out just in time to leave for the next state.

oh16

Totally adore this pic of Marlee and her son!

We discovered a new use for the DDB brochures today...apparently they are very edible. Who know.

We discovered a new use for the DDB brochures today…apparently they are very edible. Who know.

oh17

It was so hot and sunny that Izzy and Brynnan resorted to sitting under their signs.

oh18

Welcome to Indiana! Which, as it turns out, is Lincoln’s birthplace. I think this trip is all about the Abe, and his message to those of us fighting for freedom for the dogs. He might be telling us, saddle up, it’s gonna be a long and bloody fight.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Columbus Ohio Animal Activists Rock the Chain Off

  1. Sharon Emerson

    You guys really need to come to Nashville, TN
    I’ll volenteer! I hand out your cards and write letters to owners often. Even offering money to help with fencing or to buy the dog.

Leave a Reply

